GC Women’s Tennis Takes #5-Seed at PBC Tournament

GC Women’s Tennis Takes #5-Seed at PBC Tournament

>>>PBC Tournament Site

SUMTER, S.C. – The Georgia College women's tennis team (14-9) blitzed through the end of the season, going 7-1 in the final eight to take the No. 5 seed at this weekend's Peach Belt Conference (PBC) Tournament, the conference office announced. The Bobcats open the bracket taking on No. 4-seed Clayton State University (8-9) Friday, April 12 at 8 a.m.

The Bobcats and Lakers met earlier this season March 20, with Clayton pulling off a 6-3 victory.

Georgia College has one returning All-PBC pick in senior Kayla Barksdale (Augusta, Ga.) a two-time honoree in doubles action. She also leads the team in singles wins, going 18-5 on the year. May Johnson (Sydney, Australia) and Katie Krupp (Evans, Ga.) have also posted double-digit wins with 16 and 15, respectively.

Barksdale and Krupp team for the top doubles squad as well, owning a 16-7 mark.

Top seed Armstrong will face No. 8-seed Lander University in the opening round, with No. 3-seed Francis Marion University battling No. 6-seed Augusta State University. No. 2-seed Columbus State University will also face No. 7-seed USC Aiken.  

The Bobcats went 1-1 at last year's tournament, beating Flagler College 5-1 before falling to eventual champion Armstrong 5-0. Georgia College is looking for its third PBC Tournament title, the last was in 2003.

The Georgia College Department of Athletics, two-time winners of the PBC Commissioner's Cup, sponsors 11 varsity athletic programs at the NCAA Division II level. As a Division II program, Bobcat Athletics prides itself on balancing the life of the student-athlete, evidenced by the teams' multiple appearances in post-season competition as well as documented academic success and community-service involvement. Sign up at www.twitter.com/BobcatSports and www.facebook.com/gcbobcats for up-to-the-minute reports, and visit www.GCBobcats.com for more information, and to nominate your favorite former Bobcats and Colonials to the GC Athletics Hall of Fame.